Learn about Opt-in

September 17, 2019

Overview:

We are introducing a new way of opting in/out customers when using myKaarma texting!

Intended Recipients

  • Service Managers
  • Service Advisors
  • Technicians
  • Customers

Platform

myKaarma 

Product Type

Communications

Compliant Opt-Out in myKaarma

Features

  • Customers may opt-out of texts by sending any common opt out phrase: STOP, DO NOT TEXT, STOP TEXTING, etc. to the myKaarma number
  • In myKaarma: A red box will appear around the customer’s thread, indicating they have opted out of texting, and cannot be reached via text.
  • Customers will get an automated opt-out confirmation message that includes instructions for opting back in: “This message has been detected as an opt-out message, and the system has opted you out of receiving text messages. Please send REJOIN or OPTIN to opt back in.”
  • If the customer attempts to text myKaarma, they will get another auto-response with instructions for opting back in: "You are currently opted out of receiving texts. Please send OPTIN or REJOIN to opt back in." NOTE: These messages will appear in the customer thread in myKaarma, even without opting back in.
  • After sending “REJOIN” or “OPTIN,” the customer will receive an automated confirmation message: "Based on your previous message, you have been opted back in."
  • In myKaarma: The customer thread will now receive a GREEN frame indicating that this customer has opted back in to texting.

Status: Beta

What does it look like?

Example of a customer opting out

Example of a customer opting back in

How am I impacted?

You will not be able to text customers who have opted out of texting. When a hard opt out occurs and a customer wants to receive texts again, the customer himself must opt back in via text.